Va-Va-VMAs 2015

by amandamcdougall

Wow, what a night. The MTV Video Music awards is one of the craziest and most unpredictable nights of the year and last night sure did live up to that. There are no limits when it comes to the wild performances, speeches, and fashion choices and last night had no shortage of all three.

Some standout moments for me included; Tori Kelly’s unbelievable standing-ovation acoustic performance, Taylor and Nicki on sharing the stage (Bad-Blood style), Justin Bieber’s seemingly simple and professional performance (followed by some dramatic tears?), and Kanye’s excessively long and hard to follow acceptance speech (after, of course, being given his Video Vanguard award by none other than Taylor Swift herself). Fortunately, the night also included an abundance of risky and fun style choices. Read on for my picks.

Gigi-Hadid-Dress-VMAs-2015

First of all, glowing goddess Gigi stunned onlookers from her body chain down to her metallic strappy heels. It was said her hair was inspired by a Brigitte Bardot/Bond Girl type look and she nailed it. If only I looked this good after coming back from vacation…

Selena-Gomez-Dress-Change-VMAs-2015

Of course, my girl Selena Gomez seems to always make it near the top of my list, as she is usually the first person I scope out on the red (or technicolour) carpet. To be honest, her look was simple and not one of my favourites until her outfit change later in the night. If you were lucky enough to catch a glimpse of her in the audience later on, those zipper slits were heating up the place (and possibly the reason for JB’s momentary crying sesh on stage? I know I was on the verge of tears).

4aa5a7839c7db1623cfac98316dc88a6

Next, I was obsessed with Youtuber Amanda Steele’s two-piece look. So futuristic, so perfect for the awards, and she looked fantastic. Another point for Team Internet taking over.

AP_792163960187_a_p GettyImages-485976484-1440979720

Now, two more members of Tay’s supermodel-ridden Bad Blood squad also dressed true to their badass characters. Sleek, sophisticated, and of course having the perfect bodies to pull off these looks helped them celebrate Taylor taking home the award of the night in style.

55e41eb5d55db.image

Ok you seriously need to check out this girl’s performance. Best vocals of the night, hands down. Plus her hair is fabulous and she is wearing an all sequin jumpsuit. Doesn’t get much better. This one performance definitely put Tori Kelly on everyones radar. The standing ovation she received was definitely deserved.

Shoutout for Taylor’s girl power squad for making every other girl in the joint jealous. I know if I ever got famous, the first thing I’d do would be to try and get in there because it honestly looks like a blast (and I heard Taylor bakes a mean cookie).

2015 MTV Video Music Awards - Arrivals

The biggest trends for the night I noticed were lots of black, lots of cutouts and skin, as well as enough dramatic cat eyes to sell Sephora out of eyeliner. Call me impressed (and frantically practicing my winged liner for my next big night out. Jealous!)

Amanda

