The Perfect Outfit to “Shake Off” the Cold

by amandamcdougall

Before you read this article, I’d like you to kindly watch this SNL skit about what I am about to tell you. This was the video sketch of the Oct. 3rd premiere hosted by Miley Cyrus, and I thought it was one of their best yet. It features a post-apocolyptic world in which Taylor Swift and her “Squad” have taken over, leaving no survivors.

With that being said, apparently I have already been infected because I attended her Toronto concert this Friday and absolutely loved it. I was on my feet singing and dancing the whole time (thank goodness for comfortable shoes!). She provided some catchy remixes of her older stuff, including an aca-pella style rendition of “Blank Space” to the beat of her singing “Blue Jays” (a kind tribute to them making playoffs for the first time in a while). My favourite performance *SPOLER ALERT* was her piano based mashup of Enchanted/Wildest Dreams, as I was singing it all the way home. Please release that version soon Taylor!

As in the case of any concert, wearing the right outfit is crucial to your enjoyment. The excitement of dressing up often psyches me up to believe I can put up with wearing things I very much regret later on (case-in-point for those heels)… Through my experience, I believe I came up with a very well thought out look for this concert, and one that will be easy to replicate for other events as well.

First, I tried to avoid the typical Taylor crop-top concept in favour of a more polished version of a simple silhouette, aka something I believe she would actually wear. This top looks very fancy from the front, a silky crepe-looking material with a simple velvet pocket, however, the back is basic t-shirt material, keeping you cool through all of that shaking. Should still be available, and I highly recommend this piece for the price.

5644229712_2_2_1

(Zara Velvet Pocket T-Shirt – $19.90)

Next, I paired it with something a bit more Bad Blood/Badass, and nothing says that better than a leather mini (unfortunately, I wish I had those matching thigh-high boots!). Mine was actually a great find of mine from a while ago, on major discount from Free People, and the design actually has shorts underneath for a base while the leather pieces just cross and zip together (easier than it sounds).

NMT88CG_mk

This one is actually out of stock, but they’re pretty popular, so I found a few close alternatives.

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 6.31.05 PM

(Forever 21 Quilted Faux Leather Skirt – $23.90)

Shoes have to be comfortable while still being cute. Although thigh-high stiletto boots would’ve been killer, the walk back to the car would’ve been a little tougher, so I compromised!

3144036-p-MULTIVIEW

(Steve Madden Nobel – $99.95)

And to top it all off, you can’t forget those trademark red lips!

22a5380bcb385e4d8a7bd55a99702457

Amanda

