I am equal in #mycalvins Spring 2016

by amandamcdougall

Now, don’t get me wrong. I am just as obsessed as most when it comes to Calvin Klein. The campaigns are beautifully shot, the products are quality and they are endorsed by some of my favourite stars. When I walk past the flawless displays of banded and branded lingerie sets, my heart skips a beat just like the next girl. I own several and love them. But their new campaign struck me a little differently this time.

See, when I think Calvin Klein, especially their new branding featuring top models and celebrities dominating social media, I think that the girls (and guys) are owning their bodies and their personalities. I love how they have caused an epidemic of thinking boy-shorts and sports bras can be sexy and comfortable. That’s a message I’ll gladly get behind (and not just because I am wearing one right now).

Their spring campaign was released this afternoon, and being an avid follower, I adored the playful video of Kendall Jenner when it popped up on my instagram feed. But then I read the caption. “I want to be with you in #mycalvins.”

Screen Shot 2016-01-27 at 12.18.59 AM.png

Alright, I thought. Loved the polaroid idea of the video and the abstract, sexy vibe, “Can’t keep my hands to myself” style. Then Justin Bieber’s popped up.

Screen Shot 2016-01-27 at 12.19.30 AM.png

“I flaunt in #mycalvins.” Now maybe I’m overreacting but it seems as if two completely different dynamics are presented. Kendall’s confidence or “nakedness” comes with an excuse, that she can wear these when being in personal situations, whereas Justin’s is more of an exhibition-esque appropriateness. He should show off his “calvins” (as if that was the focal point of the ad) while she should only reveal them intimately. Her ad also features quick snapshots of different parts of her body, never really showing her face. Which, you’d think for a celebrity endorsement would be a main focus…

The Calvin Klein instagram page has since released some more diverse options for activities to pursue in #yourcalvins but don’t feel pressured. You should do whatever you want in your calvins, just as I intend to do.

I’d love to hear what you think 🙂

Amanda

