Saturday Spotlight – NARS Train Bleu Velvet Matte Lip Pencil

by amandamcdougall

s1344175-main-hero

Decided to splurge the other day when I was roaming in Sephora… I had just read an article about the badass lip colours used in the Marc Jacobs runway show and was obsessed with the look coined “the new ‘don’t mess with me’ face”. The look on the runway featured dark smudgey eyeliner/eyeshadow and a bold lip. I had been looking for a dark purple shade that suited me for a while now so I elected to pick up the shade used on the paler models, Train Bleu. Everything from the packaging to the application of NARS lip pencils won me over on the first use. It makes for a very bold statement, so I haven’t worn it too often but on the odd day you want to look way tougher than you are, I would reach for it. It also lends a very high fashion vibe when you keep the rest of your face makeup very minimal. I tend to prefer wearing it with a pristinely even slightly matte face, mascara, and (maybe) a touch of eyeliner. It also makes messy hair days virtually disappear when you have to rock a bun. Bold lipstick makes it look like you did it on purpose!

Amanda

