VMA Beauty 2016

by amandamcdougall

While most consider the VMAs among the most outrageous of awards shows, it happens to be one of my favourites for a few reasons. First of all, it marks the end a summer of GREAT music and the return to my favourite season, fall. Second, stars are dressed more playfully and less safe than most other awards shows. And third, most of the looks are geared towards fall, which means tons of beauty inspiration can be drawn from them!

The trend that gets me the most excited may be the one that is the most obvious… but I can’t help it. I’m a sucker for a vampy statement lip! It was even one of my resolutions to wear more interesting lip colours. So here we are:

I was also very pleased to see the amount of glowy skin on the carpet, as I myself just picked up Jaclyn Hill’s Champagne Pop highlighter and am loving it. Seriously its disco-ball glowy in the best way possible and the formula is incredible. It will definitely be a constant for my nights out at school, especially while I still have a bit of summer colour.

Now, the final trend is something I haven’t tried myself yet but have actually see all over the place for fall. Such a different, interesting take on a smoky eye by using warm fall toned shadows. The red/auburn/orangey eye looks like a hard look to pull off but I’ve seen it look incredible on several skin tones. I’ll have to try it out and let you guys know!

What did you guys think? What was the best look of the VMAs? Did you watch?

Let me know!

Amanda

