Miley Cyrus Stuns in New Malibu Video – Get the Looks Here

by amandamcdougall

Just came across Miley’s new video for Malibu after the press circus surrounding it’s release. I really liked the light airy, imagery of the video – such a far leap from most of Cyrus’ previous content it almost didn’t seem genuine. But then you hear the lyrics, and she full on admits “I never would’ve believed you if three years ago you told me I’d be here writing this song”. Neither would most of her fans. I am a fan of this new voice (over her last one anyways) and cannot wait for the rest of the album to come out.

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 12.12.04 AM

I am taking her hair to be more of a metaphor than a fashion statement. Growing out her natural hair at the roots to replace her bleach blonde locks seems like an obvious parallel to her current career direction. Most of her hair looks are messy (a bit too messy for my taste, but definitely beach-y and natural, which I can appreciate) and down or simple, almost juvenile hairstyles like pigtails and braids. All to frame her almost bare face to which only a slight shimmery shadow and mascara are added.

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 12.13.16 AM

All the clothing she wore was neutral toned – either white, cream, or grey. She kept the outfits stylistically simple with few accessories but they all worked perfectly on her. They all connected to one another through their softness – a contrast to her harsh image in the past. They featured gorgeous delicate lacework or warm and cozy knits. Shop some of my similar picks below. Love how these looks warmed us up to Miley, while still remaining in the background and letting her music and natural beauty shine.

ZARAMM

Zara Cotton Sweater

REVOLVEMM

Majorelle Western Ridge Dress

ZARAMM2

Zara Lace Top

F21MM

Forever 21 Off-The-Shoulder Smocked Romper

REVOLVEMM2

Endless Rose Flared Lace Dress with Bell Sleeves

So what do you guys think? Are you a fan of the Miley comeback (I grew up in the Hannah Montana generation so I’ll always be rooting for her…)? Did you like the look of her video? Let me know!

xx Amanda

